News‎ > ‎

TVCRA Winter Series - Round 2 Results

posted 9 Dec 2013, 14:50 by Mike Smith
Once again we were blessed with favourable weather conditions and a shower at the start did little to dampen the enthusiasm. In total 34 riders entered and the racing was quite tough right from the off, made a little harder by the niggling headwind on certain parts of the track. It was good to see several riders using the series to experience their first circuit race. In the 3rd/4th cat. race there were a few attacks that were quickly neutralised until on lap 3 SRC's Angus MacAlister attacked and took series leader Rob Hogg Chard Wheelers with him with Mark Wiffen of Tavistock Wheelers along for the company. The break was initially helped by an untimely crash by our very own Dan Cox (hope you're not too sore Dan) but they worked well together and stayed away to fight out the finish. With plenty of SRC and Chard Wheelers riders in the bunch it was difficult for the other teams to get organised. At the finish Angus overturned last months result by out-sprinting Master Hogg meaning the pair are joint leaders of the series. We will need a second rather large yellow jersey for the next round which is on 12th January. SRC's Dave Bentley finished 10th and Steuart Saunders scraped in 14th. Clive Franklin and the two Oscars both finished and appeared to be buzzing at the finish. Sadly Dan Wellings punctured on the last lap. Seems it wasn't a good day to be called Dan! In the E/1/2 race SRC's Charlie Revell was outgunned by Bristol RC rider Tim Turinni-Rochford for the win. 

Can I thank all the helpers from the various TVCRA clubs who helped to run the event on the day including Andy Wellings who coordinated things whilst I got my legs ripped off.

Results and Overall Series Points here